npiorew.blogg.se

Anthem pc reddit
Anthem pc reddit












anthem pc reddit

"It's not about the end point, it's about the journey you have along the way. "There is always hope, there is none only when you think so," Vargoth says. That said, many were also saddened by the idea of Anthem's worldbuilding and lore going to waste, and are hoping that BioWare might one day revisit it. I'm not sure about the future of the community in the long term but for now, we're still here."ĭespite the sad news about Anthem, a lot of players were also excited to know that part of the decision it was killed was reportedly to divert more resources towards future BioWare games like Dragon Age 4 and the new Mass Effect game. "I'll still be here to manage the community and help people sort things out but overall, I won't be logging onto the game again even if the servers remain up. Not everyone feels the same: "I think I'm done with Anthem," Musely says. "I am still going to be playing the game, because I love the community and helping new players." "This is a perfect example when even if a game dies, a loyal and friendly community can still keep it going no matter what," Vargoth says. You almost wouldn't even know that Anthem had been cancelled a day earlier. When I first joined the Discord server I expected it to be empty, but players were chatting, posting photos of their Javelin exosuit paint jobs, and asking for help with specific missions. "People really stuck with the game and waited for the news, good or bad." "It's been great to see this community slowly take shape over time," Musely tells me. I reviewed Anthem when it launched, and fully expected players to praise its flying, but what caught me by surprise is how the community itself has become the reason so many stuck around. The top post on the subreddit currently is recommending players return to Anthem for one last joyride through the green valleys of Bastion. In the hyper-competitive genre of loot shooters, being able to soar around like Iron Man was one of Anthem's best ideas. Of the players I spoke to, the one common feature everyone talks about is Anthem's flying Javelin mech-suits. It was very clearly different from their other games and I loved the foundation they had." "It was clear BioWare wanted to branch out from and and I was interested in seeing that. He's one of the founding members and moderators of Anthem's subreddit and Discord server. "I played Destiny so I kinda knew what to expect from Anthem but also, I didn't," says a player named Musely. This is a perfect example when even if a game dies, a loyal and friendly community can still keep it going no matter what. "Starting from the story and flying to combos, endgame and the community-especially the community! The people are really nice and we've all bonded quite fast." "Being entirely honest, I've loved everything in the game," Vargoth says. Eventually, it'll disappear altogether.įor many Anthem loyalists, that reality stings, because they genuinely think parts of the game are great. Fortunately for Anthem, BioWare said it won't be shutting down the servers any time soon, but without new updates and an already dwindling population, Anthem will be a ghost town. And when Asheron's Call closed its servers after 18 years, players logged in to mourn the apocalypse of its virtual world by the hundreds. When popular PC MMO PlanetSide shut its servers down in 2016, thousands of players gathered for one final battle. It's the same bittersweet mess of emotions that any community experiences when the game it was founded upon goes away. There's so much stuff you could say about Anthem and what it 'ruined', so for it to now be doomed to just fade into nothingness is pretty disappointing." Without Anthem we probably would have gotten expansions for. The world of Anthem probably could have made for a cool singleplayer RPG setting. The time Anthem took from the studio could have been used to make two other games nearly. "All those years put into a project that in the end amounted to very little. "In the end I just see missed potential all around with Anthem," Ohlander1 says. I think criticism of BioWare and EA for how this game was handled is totally fair, even though I played it a ton." "I'm just glad there's no more of this false promise that they're going to do something else with the game which is what we've been waiting on for a year. He's been playing Anthem since 2019 and claims to have sunk nearly 4,000 hours into it between its different console versions. "Some people are outraged, some are saddened," a player named agentCGBSpender tells me. In the end I just see missed potential all around with Anthem. Ohlander1's poorly timed Reddit post was made six minutes before BioWare's announcement.














Anthem pc reddit